Annual Black Tie Dinner

Another fantastic night was had at the recent Wicklow RFC Black Tie Dinner held in the Grand Hotel. Two hundred people were in attendance to celebrate another fantastic year of Rugby in Ashtown Lane.

Club President Bert Nicholson spoke movingly in recounting a remarkable year during which amongst other things, the club were awarded the Leinster Junior Club of the year, hosted the Provincial Towns Cup Final and launched the Wicklow Warriors disability rugby for all team.

The family of the late Mervyn Morrison were on hand to present The Mervyn Morrison memorial cup which will be awarded to the outstanding coach of the year. The first ever winners of this prestigious trophy were Frank Roberts and Mark Kinlan.

The night was expertly co-ordinated by the incomparable Ann Morrissey

Prize winners on the night were:

Womens Awards:
Young Player Of The Year: Caitlin Griffey
Most Improved Player of The Year: Megan McConnell
Player of the Year: Amy O’Neill

Mens Awards:
Young Player of The Year: Jonathan Hopkins
Most Improved Player of the Year: Neil Dickenson
Seconds Player of The Year: Neil Kearney
Player of the Year: Shane Farrar

Clarke Auctioneers Ltd “Clubperson of the year”
Jointly awarded to Cyril & Lynn Armstrong

Peter Duffy Memorial Trophy awarded for outstanding service to the club: Noel Greene

Mervyn Morrisson Memorial Cup awarded to the “Coach of the year”
Jointly awarded to Mark Kinlan and Frank Roberts